

## LIU CHONG HING BANK LIMITED

(Stock Code: 1111)

## RE-ELECTION OF A RETIRING DIRECTOR AS AN INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

The Board of Directors (the "Board") of Liu Chong Hing Bank Limited (the "Bank") wishes to announce that Dr Robin Yau Hing Chan ("Dr Chan"), a member of the Board since 5 October 1981, shall retire in rotation in accordance with the Articles of Association of the Bank (the "Articles") as a non-executive director at the conclusion of the upcoming annual general meeting of the shareholders of the Bank to be held on 26 April 2005 (the "AGM"). Being eligible, Dr Chan has offered himself to be re-elected at the AGM as an independent non-executive director of the Bank.

Dr Chan, aged 72, is a Deputy to the Chinese National People's Congress and the Ex-officio Life Honorary Chairman of the Chinese General Chamber of Commerce, Hong Kong.

Dr Chan has been the Chairman of Asia Financial Holdings Limited since 19 October 1990. He is currently an independent non-executive director of K Wah International Holdings Limited, of which he has been a board member since 22 June 1989. Dr Chan is also currently an independent non-executive director of Keck Seng Investments (Hong Kong) Limited, of which he has been a board member since 8 September 1988. Asia Financial Holdings Limited, K Wah International Holdings Limited and Keck Seng Investments (Hong Kong) Limited are all public companies listed on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

Other than that mentioned above, Dr Chan does not hold any other position with the Bank or any other members of the Bank's group, and does not have any relationship with any directors, members of the senior management or substantial / controlling shareholders of the Bank. As of the date of this announcement, Dr Chan is interested in 1,066,400 shares in the Bank (amounting to some 0.245 percent of its existing issued and fully paid share capital) within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance. Dr Chan, who has not entered into any service contract with the Bank in relation to his role as its director, shall be subject to retirement by rotation and, as the case may be, re-election under the Articles. Dr Chan shall be entitled to receive by way of remuneration for his services as an independent non-executive director of the Bank an annual director's fee, which is currently fixed at HK\$80,000 and approved by the Bank in general meeting by ordinary resolution under the Articles.

Save as disclosed above, there are no relevant matters that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Bank. As of the date of this appropriate the Board is comprised of the following directors:

The executive directors of the Bank are Mr Liu Lit Man (Executive Chairman), Mr Liu Lit Mo (Vice Chairman), Mr Liu Lit Chi (Managing Director & Chief Executive Officer), Mr Don Tit Shing Liu (Executive Director & Deputy Chief Executive Officer), Mr Wilfred Chun Ning Liu, Mr Lau Wai Man, Mr Frank Shui Sang Jin and Mr Kevin Wai Hung Chu; the non-executive directors are Dr Robin Yau Hing Chan, Mr Liu Guoyuan, Mr Timothy George Freshwater, Mr Toshiaki Arai, Mr Andrew Liu, Mr Sun Jiakang, Mr Dominic Bing Hoi Lam, Mr Christopher Kwun Shing Liu and Mr Alfred Cheuk Yu Chow; and the independent non-executive directors are Mr Peter Alan Lee Vine, Mr Wanchai Chiranakhorn and Mr Cheng Yuk Wo.

By Order of the Board Liu Lit Man Executive Chairman

3 March 2005

Please also refer to the published version of this announcement in the South China Morning Post dated 04/03/2005.