

LIU CHONG HING BANK LIMITED

(Stock Code: 1111)

Board Composition

The Board of Directors (the "Board") of Liu Chong Hing Bank Limited (the "Bank") regrets to announce that Mr Peter Alan Lee Vine, an independent non-executive director of the Bank, passed away on 13 April 2005.

Having served for more than 42 years as a member of the Board, Mr Vine had contributed admirably to the Bank through his outstanding knowledge and professional expertise. He will be sorely missed by his fellow board members and the Bank's staff. May he rest in peace.

In the light of the passing away of Mr Vine, the number of the Bank's independent non-executive directors has fallen below the minimum number required under Rule 3.10(1) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited. The Bank, however, expects to resume meeting the minimum number in question upon the re-election of a retiring non-executive director as an independent non-executive director at its upcoming annual general meeting to be held on 26 April 2005.

As of the date of this announcement, the Board is comprised of the following directors:

The executive directors of the Bank are Mr Liu Lit Man (Executive Chairman), Mr Liu Lit Mo (Vice Chairman), Mr Liu Lit Chi (Managing Director & Chief Executive Officer), Mr Don Tit Shing Liu (Executive Director & Deputy Chief Executive Officer), Mr Wilfred Chun Ning Liu, Mr Lau Wai Man, Mr Frank Shui Sang Jin and Mr Kevin Wai Hung Chu; the non-executive directors are Dr Robin Yau Hing Chan, Mr Liu Guoyuan, Mr Timothy George Freshwater, Mr Toshiaki Arai, Mr Andrew Liu, Mr Sun Jiakang, Mr Dominic Bing Hoi Lam, Mr Christopher Kwun Shing Liu and Mr Alfred Cheuk Yu Chow; and the independent non-executive directors are Mr Wanchai Chiranakhorn and Mr Cheng Yuk Wo.

By Order of the Board Liu Lit Man Executive Chairman

18 April 2005