

(a Hong Kong-incorporated limited liability company) (Stock Code: 1111)

Appointment of Independent Non-executive Director

The Board of Directors (the "Board") of Chong Hing Bank Limited (the "Bank") announces that Mr Andrew Chiu Cheung Ma ("Mr Ma") has been appointed an independent non-executive director of the Bank with immediate effect.

Mr Ma, aged 65, is a director of Andrew Ma DFK (CPA) Limited. Mr Ma has more than 30 years' experience in the field of accounting and finance. He received his bachelor's degree in economics from The London School of Economics and Political Science (University of London) in England. Mr Ma is a fellow member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England & Wales and a fellow member (practising) of the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants. He is also a fellow member of The Hong Kong Institute of Directors and The Taxation Institute of Hong Kong.

In addition to his directorship in the Bank, Mr Ma has been an independent non-executive director of Asia Financial Holdings Limited, Peaktop International Holdings Limited, C.P. Pokphand Co. Ltd., and China Resources Power Holdings Company Limited since 3 September 2004, 23 September 2004, 30 September 2005 and 13 December 2006 respectively, all of which are public companies listed on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited. Since 14 April 2005, he has been reappointed an independent non-executive director (a position previously held from 18 October 2001 to 30 September 2004) of Tanrich Financial Holdings Limited, a public company listed on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited. He has also been a non-executive director of Asian Citrus Holdings Limited, a public company listed on the AIM board of The London Stock Exchange, since 7 August 2004. Besides, Mr Ma was an independent non-executive director of Magician Industries (Holdings) Limited, a public company listed on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited, from 18 October 2004 to 1 April 2005, and China Resources Peoples Telephone Company Limited from 9 February 2004 to 30 March 2006, which was a public company listed on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited. Save as disclosed above, Mr Ma did not hold any directorship in any other public listed company in the last three years.

Other than that mentioned above, Mr Ma does not hold any other position with the Bank or any other members of the Bank's group, and does not have any relationship with any director, senior management, substantial or controlling shareholders of the Bank. As at the date of this announcement, Mr Ma has no interest (nor any short position) in the securities or underlying securities in the Bank or its associated corporations within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance. Mr Ma, who has not entered into any service contract with the Bank in relation to his role as director, shall retire by rotation, but shall then be eligible for re-election under the Articles of Association of the Bank. Mr Ma, as a board member, is at present entitled to receive by way of an annual remuneration amounting to HK\$100,000, which is currently fixed with reference to such factors as his position, responsibilities and performance and approved under the Articles of Association of the Bank.

Save as disclosed above, there is no other information required to be disclosed pursuant to any of the requirements of Rule 13.51(2) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (particularly in relation to sub-paragraphs (h) to (v) therein) nor are there other matters that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Bank.

The Board would like to take this opportunity to welcome Mr Ma as its new member.

By Order of the Board Liu Lit Man Executive Chairman

9 August 2007

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors of the Bank are Mr Liu Lit Man (Executive Chairman), Dr Liu Lit Mo (Vice Chairman), Mr Liu Lit Chi (Managing Director & Chief Executive Officer), Mr Don Tit Shing Liu (Executive Director & Deputy Chief Executive Officer), Mr Lau Wai Man (Executive Director & Deputy Chief Executive Officer), Mr Wilfred Chun Ning Liu, Mr Frank Shui Sang Jin, Mr Andrew Chiu Wing Tsang and Mr George Har Kar Wong; the non-executive directors are Mr Timothy George Freshwater, Mr Xu Minjie, Mr Andrew Liu, Mr Eiichi Yoshikawa, Mr Christopher Kwun Shing Liu, Mr Alfred Cheuk Yu Chow and Mr Wang Zhi; and the independent non-executive directors are Dr Robin Yau Hing Chan, Mr Wanchai Chiranakhorn, Mr Cheng Yuk Wo and Mr Andrew Chiu Cheung Ma.