Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



## PASSING AWAY OF AN INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

The Board of Directors (the "Board") of Chong Hing Bank Limited (the "Bank") announces with its deepest sorrow that Mr CHIRANAKHORN Wanchai ("Mr Chiranakhorn"), an Independent Non-executive Director of the Bank, a member of the Remuneration Committee and Nomination Committee of the Bank, passed away on 22 January 2017.

The late Mr Chiranakhorn served as an Independent Non-executive Director of the Bank since 1998 and had given invaluable contribution to the Bank during his term of service. The Board and the staff of the Bank express their sincere gratitude to the late Mr Chiranakhorn for his dedication and convey their condolences to his family.

Following the departure of Mr Chiranakhorn, only half of the members of both the Remuneration Committee and the Nomination Committee are Independent Non-executive Directors, which deviates from the respective requirements under Rule 3.25 of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Listing Rules") and Code Provision A.5.1 of the Corporate Governance Code set out in Appendix 14 to the Listing Rules that the said Committees should comprise a majority of Independent Non-executive Directors.

The Board will conduct a holistic review of the existing composition of the Board Committees in order to fulfill the relevant requirements as soon as practicable. A further announcement will be made by the Bank in relation to the Composition of the Board Committees in due course.

By order of the Board Chong Hing Bank Limited Lai Wing Nga Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 24 January 2017

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of the Bank comprises:

Executive Directors
 Mrs <u>Leung</u> Ko May Yee Margaret (Deputy Chairman, Managing Director and Chief Executive),
 Mr <u>Zong</u> Jianxin (Deputy Managing Director) and Mr <u>Lau</u> Wai Man (Deputy Managing Director);

- Non-executive Directors
   Mr Zhang Zhaoxing (Chairman), Mr Zhu Chunxiu, Mr Wang Shuhui, Mr Li Feng and Mr Chow
   Cheuk Yu Alfred; and
- Independent Non-executive Directors
   Mr Cheng Yuk Wo, Mr Ma Chiu Cheung Andrew, Mr Lee Ka Lun and Mr Yu Lup Fat Joseph.